Maria Ehmer, born and raised in Ohlsdorf / Upper Austria, received her first violin lessons at the age of 5. After graduating from the Linz Music High School and the Anton Bruckner Private University, she continued her studies with Ernst Kovacic and Günter Pichler at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. In 2010 she finished her studies with unanimous distinction.

She is a four-time winner of the national Prima la Musica competition and a special prize winner at the international Johannes Brahms competition in Pörtschach.

During her studies she took numerous master classes, among others with Benjamin Schmid, Lynn Blakeslee, Antje Weithaas and Hagai Shaham.

She appears as a soloist with the Bruckner Orchestra Linz, the Tyrolean Symphony Orchestra Innsbruck, the Philharmonia Vienna and the Chamber Philharmonic Warsaw.

In 2003 founding member and first violinist of the Minetti Quartet.

They are the winner of the Gradus ad Parnassum Prize and the international String quartet competition "Franz Schubert and the Modern Music". Other awards include the Karajan grant, the start grant from the Austrian Federal Ministry and the Ö1 Pasticcio Prize.

The Minetti Quartet is selected in the season 2007/08 for the renowned "Rising Stars" concert cycle, which takes them to the world's most famous concert halls, including the Cologne Philharmonic, Cite de la Musique Paris, Philharmonie Luxembourg, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Palais des Beaux Arts Brussels, Megaron Athens, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden and the Wiener Musikverein. Since then they have been giving concerts regularly in the music centers of Europe, North and South America, Asia as well as at numerous international festivals such as the Mozart Week Salzburg, Festival Schleswig-Holstein, Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, Rheingau Festival and Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

CD appearances at Hänssler Classic and AVI music.

Her chamber music partners include Fazil Say, Till Fellner, the Mandelring Quartet, the Altenberg Trio, Paul Meyer, Jörg Widmann, Sarah Willis, Thomas Riebl, István Várdai, Alois Posch and the Ensemble Wien.

The quartet also receives significant artistic impulses from Ferenc Rados, Alfred Brendel, Johannes Meissl, as well as members of the Alban Berg Quartet, Amadeus Quartet, Artemis Quartet and Hagen Quartet.

Maria Ehmer plays a violin by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini, "Mantegazza", Turin 1774, on loan from the Austrian National Bank.

Maria Ehmer, in Ohlsdorf/ Oberösterreich geboren und aufgewachsen, erhält ihren ersten Violinunterricht im Alter von 5 Jahren. Nach dem Abschluss am Linzer Musikgymnasium und an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität setzt sie ihr Studium bei Ernst Kovacic und Günter Pichler an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien fort. 2010 beendet sie Ihr Studium mit einstimmiger Auszeichnung.

Sie ist viermalige Siegerin beim Bundeswettbewerb Prima la Musica, außerdem Sonderpreisträgerin beim internationalen Johannes Brahms Wettbewerb in Pörtschach.

Während ihres Studiums unternimmt sie zahlreiche Meisterkurse, unter anderem bei Benjamin Schmid, Lynn Blakeslee, Antje Weithaas und Hagai Shaham. 

Solistisch tritt sie unter anderem mit dem Brucknerorchester Linz, dem Tiroler Sinfonieorchester Innsbruck, der Philharmonia Wien und der Kammerphilharmonie Warschau auf.

2003 Gründung und Primgeigerin des Minetti Quartetts.

Sie sind Gewinner des Gradus ad Parnassum Preises, sowie des internationalen Streichquartett-Wettbewerbs "Franz Schubert und die Musik der Moderne". Zu weiteren Auszeichnungen gehören unter anderem das Karajan-Stipendium, das Start-Stipendium des österreichischen Bundesministeriums und der Ö1 Pasticcio Preis.

Das Minetti Quartett wird in der Saison 2007/08 für den renommierten Konzertzyklus "Rising Stars" ausgewählt, der sie in die berühmtesten Konzerthäuser der Welt führt, darunter die Kölner Philharmonie, Cite de la Musique Paris, Philharmonie Luxembourg, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Palais des Beaux Arts Brüssel, Megaron Athen, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden und der Wiener Musikverein. Seitdem konzertieren sie regelmäßig in den Musikzentren Europas, Nord- und Südamerikas, Asiens sowie bei zahlreichen internationalen Festivals wie der Mozartwoche Salzburg, Festival Schleswig-Holstein, Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, Rheingau Festival und Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

CD Erscheinungen unter anderem bei Hänssler Classic und AVI music.

Zu ihren Kammermusikpartnern zählen u.a. Fazil Say, Till Fellner, das Mandelring Quartett, das Altenberg Trio, Paul Meyer, Jörg Widmann, Sarah Willis, Thomas Riebl, István Várdai, Alois Posch und das Ensemble Wien.

Wesentliche künstlerische Impulse erhält das Quartett außerdem von Ferenc Rados, Alfred Brendel, Johannes Meissl, sowie Mitgliedern des Alban Berg Quartett, Amadeus Quartett, Artemis Quartett und Hagen Quartett.

Maria Ehmer spielt auf einer Violine von Giovanni Battista Guadagnini, Turin 1774, "Mantegazza", einer Leihgabe aus der Sammlung der Österreichischen Nationalbank.